Skip to content

Shaving Lessons

April 13, 2012

A few months ago I got tired of paying two bucks a piece for Gillette Sensor cartridge razors. I felt that Gillette was gouging me for an activity for which I had no real alternative. After a little research, I realized that men in the 1940’s and 50’s used a double-edged blade in a Safety Razor. One of the better known models was the Gillette Super Speed.

They sell them on Ebay.

I bought one.

I also bought some high-end Feather razor blades. I did some reading online and figured out how to use it. I quickly found that the old-fashioned way, although wonderfully romantic and quirky, definitely had its drawbacks. Not too many knicks in the learning curve, but it took a LOT longer to shave. And to do it right, I couldn’t shave in the shower anymore. I had to do it in front of the mirror, fogged as it may be, so I could concentrate on my technique.

Then it happened; one morning I was running a little short on time. While shaving, my hand got ahead of my brain, and BAM, that honed Japanese edge caught the bottom of my nose and layed open a flap of skin that instantly produced copious amounts of my vital fluid.
I just thought I was late before. Now I was definitely set back.

So I seriously rethought the whole retro-shaving concept. You know, there’s a lot to be said for being able to indiscriminately rub a Sensor cartridge razor on your face and wind up with a really good shave. It’s called Convenience. And while at times I’m thoroughly disgusted with American Convenience and Ease, I decided I am willing to pay a little extra to improve my morning routine quality of life. I guess I just didn’t know what I was paying for until I experienced what Grandpa’s generation had to use.
I’m still gonna use the brush and shaving soap in a dish, though. That’s just too cool. And it won’t draw blood.

From → FB note

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

